“Odds and Sods” by Chad Vangaalen

Two new tunes from Chad Vangaalen. ‘Odds and Sods’ features the rollicking and noisy “Friendly Aliens” and the more experimental, electronic number “Monopoly Arp”.



Nicholas’ Personal Best of 2018 – Top 25 EPs

25. Abandoned Life.BC: Abandoned Life (self-released)

24. Fractal Cypher: Prelude To An Impending Outcome (self-released)

23. General Gruff X The Purveyors of Free Will: General Purv (Baffled Octopi Records)

22. Guitar PK: Closing Credits (GPK Recordings)

21. Night Verses: Copper Wasp (self-released)

20. BIRMANI: EP2 (Cuchabata Records)

19. Bastila: Genera (self-released)

18. BLVD NOIR: Ombres (self-released)

17. Shapes by HIGHPARK (Copper Sound Studio)

16. GURTH: Autophage (self-released)

15. Milhouse: Greatest Hits Vol II (self-released)

14. Kerrowood: The Colour Mood (self-released)

13. nehiyawak: Starlight (Arts & Crafts Productions)

12. Sweet Toothe: Sweet Toothe Debut EP (self-released)

11. Piines: The White Side (self-released)

10. Wangled Teb: Earth (Robot Hunter Records)

9. Too Attached: Angry (self-released)

8. Clara Engel: A Shore For From Any Prison (self-released)

7. That Joe Payne: What Is The World Coming To (self-released)

6. Darkroom: paradise yard (self-released)

5. Dru Jacey: There it was; where it goes – DEMO (self-released)

4. Edelveiss: Skull | Jaw | Hook (self-released)

3. Future Peers: I’m Sorry (Garment District Records)

2. Devouring Saturn: Of Light | Of Dark (self-released)

1. Ostrich Bouquet: Perennial (self-released)

Honourable Mentions:
Dead Tooth: Still Beats (Five Kill Records) | Fog Lake: carousel (self-released) | Fusilier: Duty (Brassland) | Jarouse: My Aggression (self-released) | Jaunt: Cue (self-released) | Mythless: Patience Hell (Joyful Noise Recordings) | Pantomime: Cosmic Joke (self-released)

Nicholas’ Personal Best of 2018 – Top 50 Songs

50. “Not to Scale or Painted” by Cloudkicker

49. “Sign Of The Times” by Cloudy Head

48. “Chemicals” by Forest Pilots

47. “Goat Lore” by The World Next Door

46. “Vestibule of Hell” by Voices From The Fuselage

45. “The Adulthood Lie (Edit)” by The Tangent

44. “Féminin Masculin” by B LE U N U IT

43. “Soyuz One” by Gazpacho

42. “Under the Eye of the Sun” by Steve Hackett

41. “Origin” by Hold My Hand Spaceman

40. “時(Toki)” by SweetSleep

39. “Insane!” by Sweet Toothe

38. “Nocturne” by OneOverZero

37. “Nova” by Bastila

36. “Grey Shapes on Concrete Fields” by Kino

35. “Far Below” by The Pineapple Thief

34. “ZERO” by Red Cain

33. “Leave This Place” by Bilateral

32. “The Best of Days (ft. Steve Hogarth)” by Gleb Kolyadin

31. “How Big The Space” by Steven Wilson

30. “Summon” by VANCORVID

29. “Something In The Trees” by cecs
Exclusively Premiered on The Sentinel’s Marvellous Kaleidoscope at CFRU 93.3 FM – Show 74: That Jazzerfied Intonation (Hour 1) – http://archive.cfru.ca/archive/2018/05/28/The%20Sentinel%E2%80%99s%20Marvellous%20Kaleidoscope%20-%20May%2028,%202018%20at%2015:00%20-%20CFRU%2093.3.mp3 (Skip to 27:20)

28. “alt to unending conquest (dreams version)” by Luyos MC / Anthony Donovan

27. “LuvBytes” by Dusts of Binary

26. “Vale of Tears” by Riverside

25. “Oubliette” by Raphael Weinroth-Browne

24. “Wilderness Chant” by Stvannyr

23. “War” by Subterranea

22. “Eclipse” by OVILOR

21. “Waterhole” by AWOOGA

20. “Cocaine Kangaroo” by Moths & Locusts

19. “The Colour Pink” by Bodhi Jar

18. “Are All Fish the Same Shape If You Stretch Them?” by Lunar Lemur

17. “Finna Skedaddle” by ART the Band

16. “Là où les veines rétrécissent” by Renard Blanc

15. “Poisonous Kiss” by Archipelago

14. “City Apart (Single Edit)” by Fifth Species

13. “Diamond Duller” by Dizzy Mystics

12. “Anunnaki – Patterns of Light” by Perfect Beings

11. “Untamed” by Lunatic Soul

10. “Landslide” by Arcane Roots

9. “The Weight of History” by Brian Eno & Kevin Shields

8. “Golden Prayers” by Leprous

7. “Danny Don’t You Know” by Ninja Sex Party

6. “Puzzle Box” by Haken

5. “King” by TesseracT

4. “Don’t You Dare” by Nosound

3. “Fukue’s Theme Part I (from the Finding Fukue Soundtrack)” by Jessica Stuart

2. “Wasteland” by Andy Wiseman

1. “I Need A Change” by That Joe Payne

Nicholas’ Personal Best of 2018 – Top 10 Videos

10. “Lucid Dream” by Hello Moth and Glass Apple Bonzai

9. “Emperor Bespoke” by Gazpacho

8. “Glue” by Midas Fall

7. “Poisonous Kiss” by Archipelago

6. “Mercury” by Other Families

5. “This Is Living (feat. Nick Johnston)” by AfterWake

4. “Tombeau de robot” by Renard Blanc

3. “Odyssey 88” by MICROPANiK

2. “Waited Long Enough” by VERSA

1. “Madonna Trash” by Future Peers

Honourable Mentions:
“420” by Baby Labour | “A Way to Escape” by Marc Durkee | “Filthy Shreds of Forgotten Thoughts” by General Gruff X The Purveyors of Free Will | “5/4 (from Ocean Sounds)” by Iamthemorning | “Head Boy” by Luge | “(I’m tired of) Western Shouting” by MIEN | “They Fade” by Rikard Sjöblom’s Gungly | “The Adulthood Lie” by The Tangent | “King” by TesseracT

Baffled Octopi’s Top 25 Canadian Albums of 2018


25. “It Will Come to You” by ACTORS

24. “Pure Pain” by Shirley & the Pyramids

23. “Trespasser” by Art d’Ecco

22. “Have a New Name” by Wax Mannequin

21. “Lightbringer” by Still Fools

20. “Queller” by Ivory Towers

19. “Fever Feel” by Fever Feel

18. “Aleppo” by Tremblers of Sevens

17. “Patient Problems” by Problem Patient

16. “The Golden Octave” by Witch Prophet

15. “Lush Life” by Bonjay

14. “Angels of Death” by Jennifer Castle

13. “Heart Shaped Bed” by Nicole Dollanganger

12. “Bird/Alien” by Wallgrin

11. “Into the Sun” by Freak Dream

10. “Basic Behaviour” by Frigs

9. “Monkey Paw” by Phono Pony

8. “Puff LP: In the air without a shape” by Bernice

7. “Rebirth” by Cursed Arrows

6. “Cotton Candy Jet Engine” by Expanda Fuzz

5. “Strange Prison” by Astral Swans

4. “Montreal” by Elizabeth Shepherd

3. “Drugs in the Water” by TETRIX

2. “Trade Winds” by Hello Blue Roses

1. “Cuntrol+Z” by Claude l’Anthrope


(Baffled Octopi = Mark Anthony Brennan)